This is one of my Old Faithful recipes that I make for dinner whenever I’m feeling lazy, but want something delicious.  Every time my leftovers are gone is a sad day.  Everyone I have ever made this for had loved it/requested the recipe so now everyone can finally have it!

Image

The picture above is a double batch!  I started doubling it up because I was so crazy about it

Ingredients (single batch):

1 box velveeta shells and cheese
1 pound ground beef
1 packet taco seasoning
1 can black beans – drained
1/3 cup sour cream
1 bag shredded cheese
2-3 cups salsa <–click for my own homemade that i used
tortilla chips to serve with it

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350

Cook the ground beef in a skillet and add taco seasoning like the directions say on the packet.  At the same time, I am making the mac and cheese according to directions on packet.

Once both the beef with taco seasoning and Mac and Cheese are ready, and you have added the packet of cheese sauce to your noodles, you can start adding everything else.

Throw in the sour cream right into the saucepan your mac and cheese are in and mix it all up on low-medium heat.  Sometimes I even add a little extra to make it extra creamy – and I don’t even like sour cream!  But it makes it so perfectly yummy

Next, add the black beans and beef.  I  don’t ever add the full amount of either the beef or beans.  I like to save a little bit of both to use to make quesadillas for another meal.  so I usually add about 3/4 of each, It really just depends on how much you think looks the best!

After all ingredients are mixed in the saucepan together, Put a layer of salsa covering the bottom of a 9×9 pan.  Pour half of the mac and cheese mixture into pan, followed by another layer of salsa, and the rest of the mac and cheese.  Cover with shredded cheese and pop in the oven for about 25 minutes, or until it’s all bubbly!

When serving top with crushed tortilla chips – it adds the perfect amount of crunch!  I also always have extra salsa on hand to pour on per serving!

Now that I’ve been writing this blog – I am seriously craving it and might have to go make it myself!

